Nature – My Nemesis?

Standard

I don’t like Adventure Sports! There, I said It!

I don’t like becoming one with nature, so go sue me!

Recently, I went to (read “was forced into going to”) an outbound activity (is that even a real term , or just some corporate mumbo-jumbo??) where I was made to face one of my worst fears – Nature in its entire glory ! And that included- mud, ants, elephant sized mosquitoes, getting hit by leaves and twigs in the face, and smelling animal poo! And this was not all. I was expected to, happily, go rock climbing (on algae stained, slippery rocks), jump off using ropes (not a chance in hell that I’ll do that!!), cross a river (a term that was loosely used for a 1 foot deep puddle of water ,laying over a bed of tiny rock like things) on a rope, and swing off a tree using a (no surprises here) rope, in a very Tarzan-Jane sort of a way.

So, as any intelligent human would do, I refused! Point-Blank! And why shouldn’t I? What sane grown-up would knowingly put his/her life into the hands of a “trained” and “qualified” mountaineer, who was enjoying clicking pictures on her face-sized smart phone, rather than paying attention to the hormone-driven “young” boys trying to impress her with their ape-like antics! If she wouldn’t notice them, I had a slim chance of getting her to notice me, Ms ButterFingers!

And not a second after my refusal, I became the point of discussion and ridicule! It was as if I had committed a sin by not doing these cirque du soleil-adjacent activities. As if, I had snatched a meal from the hands of a Somalian kid! And they sniggered at my lack of courage, which in their eyes was just an excuse for the fact that I am fat and can’t do any of those things because i feel ,the equipment can’t take my weight.  Well, that thought did go through my mind, but it was mostly the thought of being perched up on a rope in the middle of nowhere, staring down at a bed of sharp rocks, that made me shit my pants and call quits.

On my way back from there, and it was a long way back, I was wondering about why there is this need that people have, to judge others on anything and everything that they themselves can do! Who died and made adventure-sports the next yardstick to judge the kind of person you are? Why is it, that if I am scared to allow a stranger to let me hang from a rope, I am a fool but If I refuse giving a lift in my a car to a stranger, I am smart? Why is it , that if I am extra careful with putting my life in danger during adventure sports, I am an imbecile but If I do the same during, say driving my car, I am a responsible adult? Aren’t we giving a complete stranger an opportunity to do as they please with us, in all these situations?

Don’t try and correct me, if you think I am wrong, because I took enough judging as it is, from dumb-twits who were out to out-macho each other! And to those dumb-twits I have just one question to ask – Over-compensating much?

2 responses »

  1. I completely agree with you on this! Someone who ridicules you for not volunteering to put your body in mortal peril displays not only a lack of intellect but also a lack of survival instinct. These are the kind of people who go to dumb ass sports adventure companies in kanakpura road and attempt 3000 rupee bungee jumping and then get killed. Retards. Even on my team outing I skipped most of the adventure sports that involved ropes and any kind of reliance on some stranger to save my life. I avoided the horse riding for the exact same reason too! I don’t trust the damn animal. It’s just good survival instinct and we are the smart ones 🙂

Leave a comment