To you, Bangalore!!

Standard

Recently, I was asked to talk about bangalore, in fact to summarize the good, the bad and the ugly in a minute. ย The toughest one minute of my life, I must say. But please note, this difficulty was not due to a lack of thoughts or a dearth of experience. It was, au contraire, caused by the excess of both.

Living in Bangalore has its advantages and disadvantages. The disadvantages start piling up when you don’t know the local language and despite many horrible experiences fail to recognize the importance of learning it.

“My name is Anjlin, and I don’t know your language”

Everyday of your life, that you spend in this city, you are made to stand up and confess this in front of the whole world, much like an AA meeting. You could be rude, you could be messy but all is forgiven if you speak the language of the masses. I am not, in any way, trying to disrespect or ridicule this great historical language. All I am asking here is, can people not accept the fact that I wasn’t born here and this is not, unfortunately not, my mother tongue? The thing is, it’s not as if you can’t get by without the language. There are those who can read your face and know you are a “foreigner” and stick to a common means of communication, which is, almost always, English. Then, there are those who are kind enough to use an English word here and there to help you assume the meaning of what they say. But , every now and then, you come across people who make you reconsider that offer of a job closer to your roots where you can talk as much as you want. All of us “foreigners” here can count at least a hundred conversations that we’ve been a part of initially, but thrown out of suddenly, because a few more people who knew THE language joined in.

But I am not one to see only the negative in things. I do realize that this is the land of opportunities, a modern day Promised Land, so to speak. I come from a small town , like many of my fellow “foreigners” do. If it were not for this city, I would’ve been confined to a small town, an insignificant career and a boring social life. With a beaming night life (although cut short), and a plethora of restaurants, pubs and bars, life in this metro (of sorts) is anything but dull. It has so many things to offer that sometimes you can have more on your plate than you can stuff your stomach with. I am one of those people who have been pushed into a job that does not really satisfy the crazy, creative streak in them. This city offers me theater, music, literature, culture and a lot more, and I just feel lucky to have landed here.

Despite all the fights and squabbles with autowallahs, all the demeaning remarks from people about how us “foreigners” have ruined the culture of the city (even though it is us “foreigners” who have given it its place in the world map with the booming IT sector and what not), I have a love for Bangalore that makes me ache every time someone suggests moving out of it. Bangalore to me is like a dear friend. A friend I cannot afford to lose, a friend who’s faults I cannot hold against her, a friend who has given a direction to my passion and most of all a friend who has given me my life. So here’s to you my friend, flaws and everything!! Stay the same and forever forgive my ignorance.

14 responses »

  1. I have always wanted to write a piece like that on Delhi… I too have an amazing love-hate relationship with it..butwhat always wins in the end is my love for it…its unshakeable..

    You have inspired me to write that article..its been due for really long…good work!!

  2. I share your opinion . Why are we Indians such racists. I feel weird when people ask me why dont you get a transfer from Bangalore to some place near your hometown. Cmmon its just bcz i sort of like it here.
    We make the country and its actually sad when people are divided just because we speak sm other language.

  3. The Best !! .. Clearly Depicting the mindset of the people out there and also the feelings of the people like us…
    Keep Writing Dear ๐Ÿ™‚
    I heard U r launching a book in the market too ๐Ÿ™‚
    Lyf in a metro rocks ๐Ÿ™‚ and even though I donโ€™t know the language !!

  4. Nice post.
    It made me think, we are always assumed to belong where we were born or brought up for that matter.
    But everyone has the freedom to select a city, settle down and call its own.
    The same that we have done.
    The pride in calling Bangalore our city ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. loved it. and it’s something that applies to not just the south. i’m in delhi and there are so manu people who speak non hindi/english languages and i seem to be surrounded by them almost always. well, people randomly breaking into gibberish in the middle of a conversation is not entirely unlikely even for me. and all i can say is ‘what the…’

    great work btw loved every bit of it.

  6. When it comes to the language part, i feel that blore is the most open city for any ppl frm anywher !!
    even though ppl may make u feel like a foreigner , at the same time most of them wil surely try n talk in hindi or broken english to u . whereas its nt the same when u go to chennai or any other city in south they look at us as if we have committed a crime if we don not talk their language .I myself have experienced it at chennai,waynad,Madurai atleast. Not even one word of hindi or english they wil give a damm abt . Blore has to be respected for it welcomes all with its open arms.

    • I am not really sure if Bangalore is the most open city in India.. “South India” would be a more accurate description ๐Ÿ™‚ But apart from the language divide, which I agree exists everywhere, I would choose Bangalore over any other city in India, every single time !! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Wonderful article. I have always felt very strongly about the language divide [though I don’t really blame any one for this as it exists everywhere]. However, you echo my feelings with respect to being accepted for once even though I do not know “THE” language. However, even with all its flaws, it is definitely and will always be my city of choice, “MY” Bangalore..

  8. Pingback: Tweets that mention To you, Bangalore!! ยซ Blog-lin -- Topsy.com

  9. I don’t think Bangalore is very cosmopolitan. [I’m not saying there’s a perfect city anywhere in the globe, either].

    In the past hundred years, new modes of travel and communication have outpaced generations, and the impact is so huge that not everyone is able to accept that “their” land is now “our” land.

    We have a long way to go man.

  10. i am pleasantly surprised everytime i read a post of yours….. i seriously never knew you had such a grt talent… i feel like the boring one in the family ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Leave a comment