T3..hmmmmm!

Standard

Tiring, Troublesome and Typical Delhi: that’s T3.

In this last year, I have had to travel a lot , and fortunately or unfortunately, it was always via Delhi and generally through the T3 terminal. The first time I entered this new monstrosity , I was overwhelmed. The size, the grandeur and the very ‘international’ feel to the terminal do fill you up with a sense of pride , even if you don’t belong to Delhi. But once the very teenage-y crush like curtains are drawn, and you really see the place, it’s not difficult to miss that inconvenience is written all over. For some it might take a few trips to realize that, and for some, like me, who have a habit of judging everything, it will probably take only a few minutes for the place to unravel.

I got off the taxi and kept running around looking for an entrance to the departure area. After wasting oodles of my energy and a lot of time, I saw this insignificant little sign saying that departures are on the first floor, and lifts are available for the same. I managed to find the lift with ease and went up to the first floor. Now, I had to understand which gate to enter from. Almost all gates had huge queues in front of them , with no clear beginning or end to them. Finally I found a gate that had a smaller crowd at it, but I was told by the security personnel there, that this is the entrance to the international departures. I lost all hope and desire of catching my flight , because by the time the long queues would’ve cleared , either I would’ve fainted or my flight would’ve taken off. Seeing my crestfallen face, I was let inside through the international gate (which by the way had no demarcation to differentiate it from the domestic departure gates) and he said I could walk to the domestic departure counters inside.

After this started one of the longest and boring walkathons of my life. The first stage was finding the counter for my airline, so that I could collect my boarding pass. It took me probably 15 minutes to reach there and then I was greeted by the snootiest airline staff I have ever met. They were behaving as if I am traveling for free andย  they were doing some charity work by allowing me in their flight. Anyway, after a round of fake pleasantries being exchanged ,with a strong bitchy undertone to the whole conversation, I got my boarding pass.

The next step in this journey was getting to my boarding gate. It was a challenge to locate the entrance to the gate area. It felt like I had walked half way across Delhi and only then did I manage to see this small board saying -’15 minutes to the departure gates’ or something to that effect. Since there was nothing to eat or shop in the area close to the gates , i loitered around here and there, waiting for my boarding announcement. But (please bear with the sarcasm) ,as expected, the announcements were being made in such a clear voice and and at such a high volume, that people in Bangalore would’ve also heard it. So with 20 minutes left for my scheduled boarding I decided to proceed towards my gate. I flipped my boarding pass to see that my gate number was 42 B .

Although, this is a description of my first visit to the T3, I have noticed that all my flights from this terminal have always taken off from gates that have numbers above 40. I have a genuine bone to pick with the authorities. Could they please clarify as to why and how, gate nos 1 to 39 are always busy. Why is it that no domestic flight takes off from these gates? And if it is a policy of some sort(the reason behind which, I would really like to know) , why is it that the announcements for domestic boarding are not made at least 30 minutes before the boarding time and in a clearer voice? I kid you not, but every time, I have walked to my boarding gate, even after using the pointless travellators , I have reached when half of the people have already boarded and this is when I panic a lot at airports and generally do things way before the scheduled time.

It’s not as if I don’t appreciate what the authorities have tried to do with this terminal. Delhi, being the capital, they wanted the airport to have as international a look and feel to it as possible. But, in doing so, they forgot a few minor details. They forgot to put up bigger and clearer signs at the arrival and departure. They forgot to purchase better announcement systems and forgot to hire a more cordial staff. They forgot that at the time of arrival, no one likes to walk half a kilometer through a maze of counters and the duty free stores(especially when you have just come off a domestic flight and no one would let you purchase anything from the duty free) just to get to their luggage, which then takes another 45 minutes to arrive. They forgot that no one, even in their wildest dreams, would imagine that even if they reach the airport 2 hours prior to the take off time, they would end up huffing and puffing and making it to the boarding gate only at the last minute.

I know all the ‘Daalhi’ people are going to kill me for criticizing their beloved T3 but sorry to say my definition of T3 does not match up to their’s.

12 responses »

  1. I had had the good (mis)fortune on working on some aspects of the T3 while in Bangalore. Studying the plans itself was so hard because everything seemed to be all over the place. A lot of what the final thing turned out was very different from the original plans, so I’m not surprised that it has got even more confusing.

    I also had the good (mis)fortune of traveling through T3 while on my way back from my recent trip to India, and flying international was a worse experience. I had to wait in queues for a sum total of 2 hours from checkin to security. Lucky that I was there a lot earlier than the departure.

    It is probably one of the only airports that are designed this way in India and clearly authorities are still learning how to deal with all the new stuff. The Dubai airport is also like this with a really long terminal and some 100 gates. Luckily, there are shops all the way along the terminal to keep you occupied. They better figure out how to do things fast and better, or they’re just going to have a lot of pissed off passengers screaming at them for missing flights.

  2. Airports are one of the earliest indicators of the kind of infrastructure a city carries. A badly designed or ramshackled airport would mean that the city would almost always be no better. What they have tried to do to Delhi is like you have explained very aptly, is to give it a very international look by Delhi standards and seems like they have failed miserably. Will definitely keep that in mind next time I come up with my travel plans to the norther part of the country.

  3. I’d really like to know if there’s anyone who’s boarded at a boarding gate less than 40!!! I think with T3 they went all crazy with swanky carpeting and beautiful walkways, but forgot the most essential aspect, OUR M**F***ING CONVENIENCE!!!

      • Moving an airport outside city limits, is something that is unavoidable with kind of congestion that all our cities are seeing these days. The point of discussion here is the terminal itself. I would really like to know your opinion on the 8km distance between terminals 1D and T3, the shuttle that is supposed to ferry between the two terminals every 10 mins but doesn’t show up for 20 minutes, the counter to buy the ticket for the shuttle from, which again has no sign on it and the sitting in the shuttle and waiting for it to start for about 10 minutes. If you know that it is going to tak you about 2 hours to reach teh airport , you can plan your trip accordingly, but you can never ever imagine that the same amount of time is going to be needed inside the airport?And God forbid, if you have to switch flights at Delhi,and that too from different terminals.

  4. I guess you faced a series of boo-boos, but I really think that such feedback should be given to the authorities. That way they can aggregate inconveniences and prioritize what is important, and tackle those. Some can’t be helped (building design) but some can (bad coffee).

    We do this in our work as well. Feedback is critically important. But still, end-users, given an opportunity to complain, have a tendency to go overboard ๐Ÿ˜›

    • Thus spoke the true Delhi-waala, Why does it hurt you people so much to hear anything against your pretentious little city when you openly bash up your country for doing this wrong and that wrong? Please accept that it was an utter waste of money. Its true that Delhi needed a big airport , but not a maze!

      • Thoroughly enjoying this! ๐Ÿ˜€

        I refrain to comment. If I leave a comment about the “Dahli-ness”, then all my wrath will be unleashed and this page could get very very bloody.

  5. Although i am not someone who is from delhi or a supporter but i think people have their perceptions about delhi even when what they have spent is a day or few at most.. same goes with chennai.. and then we try to find everything that would make it seem true. We ignore to see the other aspects..
    Whatever the experience i had was decent with T3, i could easily find the baggage terminals,gates,exits etc..

Leave a comment